Organisation & Scientific Committee


Tatiana Gambaryan-Roisman,
Institute for Technical Thermodynamics, TU Darmstadt

Tatiana Gambaryan-Roisman heads the group Interfacial Transport and Complex wetting at the Institute for Technical Thermodynamics at the Technical University of Darmstadt.

Peter Stephan,
Institute for Technical Thermodynamics, TU Darmstadt

Peter Stephan heads the Institute for Technical Thermodynamics and is spokesperson of the Collaborative Research Center 1194 Interaction between Transport and Wetting Processes.

Peter Stephan

Steffen Hardt,
Institute for Nano- and Microfluidics, TU Darmstadt

Steffen Hardt owns a PhD degree in theoretical physics and is a full professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering. He studies fundamental problems occurring in micro- and nanofluidics based on a combination of experimental and theoretical/numerical methods. His research interests include nanoscale gas kinetics, electrokinetics, interfacial flows, wetting phenomena and biomolecular separation.

Hans-Jürgen Butt,
Max-Planck-Institute for Polymer Research

Hans-Jürgen Butt joined the Max-Planck-Institute of Polymer Research in 2002 as a director. His research focusses on experimental physics of soft matter interfaces. He contributed to our understanding of atomic force microscopy, e.g. for measuring surface forces. In the last two decades controlling the wetting of surfaces has developed to a major research topic in his group.

Hans-Jürgen Butt, Image: MPG

Dieter Bothe,
Mathematical Modelling and Analysis, TU Darmstadt

Dieter Bothe heads the institute Mathematical Modeling and Analysis at the Technical University of Darmstadt. He is co-speaker of the Collaborative Research Centre 1194. His research concerns nonlinear evolution equations, reaction-diffusion systems and transport processes in two phase flows, where he combines modeling with mathematical analysis and numerical simulations to analyze, describe and understand more deeply processes in the Natural and Engineering Sciences.


The organising team can be contacted via Email:

International Scientific Committeee

  • D. Brutin (FR)
  • A. Amirfazli (CA)
  • C. Bain (UK)
  • J. Bush (USA)
  • P. Cheng (CN)
  • T. Gilet (B)
  • P. Kavehpour (USA)
  • E. Lorenceau (FR)
  • C. Neto (AU)
  • D. Quéré (FR)
  • N. Shahidzadeh (NL)
  • C. Sun (CN)
  • D. Wen (CN)